Indian Cricket Team | Best Captain of Team India

Reading time 3 Min

Indian Cricket Team

Indian Cricket Team

As you all know cricket is the most popular game among youth and kids, but nowadays the craze of cricket is increasing among girls too. The Indian government is also encouraging girls in cricket.

In this article you will find the name of the team member of the women’s Indian cricket team, but before that you should know some information about Cricket. In this article you will find all your answers about cricket. When and where was cricket first played? Who is the first captain of the men’s and women’s cricket team in India? How many matches did Team India won under Dhoni’s captaincy? Women’s Team India team detail, List of Captains of Team India in Test Match, ODI and T20.

When and where was cricket first played?

In 1844, the first-ever international match took place between the United States and Canada. In 1859, a team of English players went to North America on the first overseas tour. Meanwhile, the British Empire had been instrumental in spreading the game overseas and by the middle of the 19th century it had become well established in Australia, the Caribbean, India, Pakistan, New Zealand, North America and South Africa.

Who was the first Men’s Captain of Team India?

First Indian Captain

  • CK Nayudu was the first Test Match Captain of Team India, who led the team in four matches against England (One in England in 1932 and a series of three matches at home in 1933–34).
  • Ajit Wadekar was the first ODI captain of Team India. (Till now total twenty five players have captained India in One Day Internationals, but Mahendra Singh Dhoni is the most successful captain with 110 wins out of 200 matches)
  • Virender Sehwag was the first T20 Captain of Team India, during the 2006–07 series in South Africa. (Till now total seven players have captained the Team India in T20Is, but Mahendra Singh Dhoni is most successful captain, with 41 wins out of 72 matches)

Players captained Team India in Test Match?

Till now total 33 players have captained Team India in test matches, of which Virat Kohli is the most successful with 38 wins out of 65 matches

Name of the CaptainsTotal Match PlayedWonLostDrawn
CK Nayudu4031
Maharajkumar of Vizianagram3021
The Nawab of Pataudi3012
Lala Amarnath15267
Vijay Hazare14158
Vinoo Mankad6015
Ghulam Ahmed3021
Polly Umrigar8224
Hemu Adhikari1001
Datta Gaekwad4040
Pankaj Roy1010
Gulabrai Ramchand5122
Nari Contractor12228
Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi4091912
Chandu Borde1010
Ajit Wadekar16448
Srinivas Venkataraghavan5023
Sunil Gavaskar479830
Bishan Singh Bedi206115
Gundappa Viswanath2011
Kapil Dev344723
Dilip Vengsarkar10253
Ravi Shastri 1100
Krishnamachari Srikkanth4004
Mohammad Azharuddin47141419
Sachin Tendulkar254912
Sourav Ganguly49211315
Rahul Dravid258611
Virender Sehwag4211
Anil Kumble14356
Mahendra Singh Dhoni60271815
Virat Kohli65381611
Ajinkya Rahane5401

Players captained Team India in ODI?

Till now total 25 players have captained Team India in One Day Internationals, of which Mahendra Singh Dhoni is the most successful with 110 wins out of 200 matched

Team India Caption NameTotal Match PlayedWonLostTiedNo Result
Ajit Wadekar20200
Srinivasaraghavan Venkataraghavan71600
Bishen Singh Bedi41300
Sunil Gavaskar37142102
Gundappa Viswanath10100
Kapil Dev74393302
Syed Kirmani10100
Mohinder Amarnath 10001
Ravi Shastri114700
Dilip Vengsarkar1881000
Krishnamachari Srikkanth 134801
Mohammad Azharuddin174907626
Sachin Tendulkar73234316
Ajay Jadeja138500
Sourav Ganguly 146766505
Rahul Dravid 79423304
Anil Kumble11000
Virender Sehwag 127500
Mahendra Singh Dhoni20011074511
Suresh Raina126501
Gautam Gambhir66000
Virat Kohli 95652712
Ajinkya Rahane33000
Rohit Sharma108200
Shikhar Dhawan32100

Who was the first Women’s Captain of Women’s Team India?

  • Santha Rangaswamy was the first women’s Test match captain in 1976 against West Indies at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium.
  • Diana Edulji was the first Women’s One Day International captain in 1978 against England at Eden Gardens.
  • Mithali Raj became the first Women’s Twenty Twenty International captain in 2006 against England at Derby.

Who was the first Under-19’s Captain of Team India?

  • K. Srikkant was the first Test Match captain of U-19 of Team India in 1978–79 against Pakistan.
  • Ravi Shastri was the first One Day International captain for the U-19 of Team India in 1981.

Women’s Indian Cricket Team

Men’s Indian Cricket Team


For live Cricket Score Click here

Best Mobile app for live Cricket

Related Posts

This Post Has 3 Comments

  1. It is in reality a great and helpful piece of info. I am happy that you just shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *